Indian Visa Policy

Indian Visa Policy For Tourists and Other Visitors

Travel Guide

Before you visit India, you should know different types of Indian visas and Indian visa policies for tourists and other visitors. India has a good foreign policy and good relations with almost every country in the world.

But the Indian government is very strict about its visa policy and if you are visiting India, you should know about the Indian visa policy. Here are a few things that you should know about the Indian visa policy.

Visa Exempt Countries

You need a visa and a valid passport to enter India. But there are a few countries for which the Indian government allows their citizen to enter India without an Indian visa.

The Indian government offers visa-free entry to citizens of:

  • Bhutan
  • Maldives (only for 90 days)
  • Nepal

Nationals of the above-mentioned countries can only enter India without a visa, if and only if they are not coming from China. Citizens of Bhutan and Nepal can stay in India and work freely for as long as they want. There is no limit.

Visa-Free Entry for PIO

PIO stands for Person of Indian Origin. The Indian government decided to offer visa-free entry to those who belong to Indian origin. It is up to 4 generations. That is if any person who is national of other country but his parents, grandparents or great grandparents were Indian, he or she can apply for Indian PIO card.

On this PIO card, that person can enter India without a visa. But there is a limitation as well. If the person has Indian origin but he or she is national of any of the following countries, he/she will not be eligible to get visa free entry:

  • Bangladesh
  • China
  • Pakistan
  • Srilanka

Tourist Visa for Pakistani Nationals

India welcomes tourists from all over the world. But Pakistan is an exception. Because of the political issues between India and Pakistan, the Indian government doesn’t issue tourist visas for Pakistani nationals.

But if any Pakistani is seeking medical treatment in India, he can apply for India medical visa. Pakistani nationals can also apply for a journalist visa and film visas. But policy about these categories changes from time to time.

Indian E Visa

The Indian government also offers Indian E Visa for nationals of many countries. Nationals of around 170 countries can apply for Indian E Visa. This is an electronic travel document that allows the visa holder to enter India and can stay there for a maximum of 90 days.

If you are willing to stay for more than 90 days in India, then you should get a visa through the Indian embassy. For the following categories, you can apply online for Indian E Visa:

Some of the countries whose nationals are not allowed to apply for Indian e visas are as follows:

  • Pakistan
  • Afghanistan
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Bangladesh
  • Egypt
  • Kuwait
  • Libya
  • Turkey
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Indonesia
  • China

and the list goes on.

If you are lucky enough to get an Indian tourist visa, you should check these best places in India that every tourist must visit.

Moreover, if you still have questions about the Indian visa policy, you can use the comment section below to ask your questions. We will try to be as responsive as possible.